Programme & Tickets

Thursday, 31. May 2018, 12:30
St. Charles Hall Meggen, Rittersaal

String Quintet

11.30 am | Introductory talk by Prof. Marina Frolova-Walker

Leo Ornstein (1892 – 2002)
Preludes 3 und 4 from «Six Preludes for Cello and Piano», SO 611

Alexander Glazunov (1865 – 1936)
String Quintet in A major, Op. 39

Leo Ornstein (1892 – 2002)
Hebraic Fantasy, SO 601

Sergei Taneyev (1856 – 1915)
String Quintet in G major, Op. 14

This programme features two Russian masterpieces, Glazunov’s String Quintet from 1892 and Taneyev’s from 1901, both attesting to the high level of Russian chamber music at the fin-de-siècle under the patronage of Mitrofan Belyayev, the timber magnate who acted as a musical Maecenas. In both, we hear a blending of the Moscow and Petersburg schools of composition: Tchaikovsky’s heart-warming lyricism is tempered by orderly counterpoint. Alongside these exciting and expansive quintets, we shall also hear several shorter pieces by the relatively obscure Leo Ornstein, a Jewish-Russian émigré to the United States who cultivated a highly original voice as a composer. Ornstein’s Hebraic Fantasy, written to mark Albert Einstein’s 50th birthday in 1929, shows us the intense, lyrical side of his art, but the two cello preludes offer something more acerbic and piquant, allowing us to glimpse Ornstein’s unmistakable individuality.

Lunch: 11:50
Before the concert a light lunch will be available.
CHF 30 (4 variations incl. 1 drink)


Category 1 – CHF 45
Category 2 – CHF 30

Save the date